Once logged in, users can follow the steps below to add and modify collections. Select ' from the drop-down menu under the user ID
The access permissions lets the user determines who has access to see the contents of a collection. Administrators and collection managers can specify individual users, institutional groups who will be allowed to see the collection contents after logging in. In addition to individual users and groups collections can also be shared with the entire institution (so that any user from that institution can log in and view the collection contents) and kept private or public/open to everybody. However please note that this permission is only restricted to access to the collection and does not extend to access to individual media items. The permissions that are available here are:
- Private: The collection is private to the collection manager that created them and to other collection managers of this newly created collection and the parent collections in addition to Institutional Administrators.
- Share with Users: You can specify a list of usernames or userIDs of the users of your institution that you want to share the access to see contents of this collection with.
- Share with Groups: You can share the collection access with a user group. Learn more about Groups here (LINK).
- Everyone at my Institution. Selecting this option will give access to see the collection contents to everyone from your institution.
- Public: This option will make the collection public. Anyone can see the contents of the collection without logging in.
Administrators and Collection managers can specify if they want a collection to be listed on the website for other users to see. This permission can also be given to list specific collections only to users who have access to them.
Collections have the following listing and visibility options
Inherit permissions: When selected, this permission will only let users who have access to the collection via the access permissions listed above, see it listed on the website after logging in.
Listed: This option when checked lists the collection on the illumira website (and Institution branded website)
Unlisted: The collection is not visible on the website. These are hidden collections of media.
Note: Collection visibility does not affect the visibility or permissions of the videos that it contains.
- Listed in public searches and listings OR
- Listed in public searches and listings for authorized users only i.e co-owners and users the media is shared with OR
- Unlisted from all listings and searches.
However please note that these are just the default values, the user uploading the media can choose to change this value if needed.
This option when enabled permits other users to create annotations/learning objects from the media content in that collection.